Review | Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Title:  Slammed

Author:  Colleen Hoover

Publish Date:  September 18, 2012

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Website: N/A

Imprint: Atria Books

My Source:  Purchased at BN

My rating: 4 Stars

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.   Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.  Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.  (Goodreads Summary)

My Review:

YA isn’t typically a genre I enjoy or usually read. At this stage in my life, being a wife and mom, I just don’t relate to these types of stories and won’t typically read them. That being said, I really enjoyed this book. The characters had some depth, were likable, and definitely relatable to readers of most ages. What struck me most was the maturity of both main characters their life experience of losing a parent or both parents made them “grow up” and the writing showed this very well in their interactions with each other, as well as others. As the reader, I appreciated their maturity very much, especially in the wake of a very sensitive issue Lake and Will had to overcome. They handled it very well, better than you would expect an 18 and a 21 year old to handle it.

I found myself crying, laughing, then crying some more. At one point, my kids looked at me and asked their dad, “What’s wrong with mom?”. This story kept me wanting more with each turn of events and I was so glad I had purchased Point of Retreat to continue reading about Lake and Will! This story has such a good message, focusing on doing the right thing. I can’t wait until my daughters are old enough for me to recommend this book to them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

