Review | Effortless by S.C. Stephens

Title: Effortless

Author: S.C. Stephens

Publish Date: February 25, 2012

Publisher: S.C. Stephens

Website: N/A

Imprint: N/A

My Source: Borrowed from a friend

My rating: 2 Stars

A continuation of the novel, Thoughtless…

A lot can happen in a year. You grow, you change, you learn from your mistakes. And Kiera had made a lot of mistakes to learn from. But she had learned, and she was determined to never cause a man pain again, especially the amazing man who currently held her heart. But life offers new challenges for every relationship, and when Kiera’s love is put to the ultimate test, will it come out the other side unscathed?

Love is easy…trust is hard. (Goodreads Summary)

My Review:

I had really hoped this book would be better than the first. It literally took me twelve days to get through it and if you know me, I am not a slow reader at all. Many times I would fall asleep shortly after picking it up. The beginning was so slow. I can’t stand when an author takes 1/3 of the book to get me up to speed with what I missed in the first book. Why did I even read the first one if you were going to retell it in the second? When the story did get interesting, after Kellan left, I couldn’t put it down. My favorite movie is P.S. I Love You and Effortless had a lot of what I love about that movie. But then that was it. The story started getting sappy and you could literally see the pretty pink bow that wrapped up the book getting tied and sprinkled with fairy dust. If there is a third, I will not be reading it. This story could have been told so much better, it is a good story. The writing style just wasn’t believable or relatable for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

