Review | Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

Title: Into the Darkest Corner

Author: Elizabeth Haynes

Publish Date: June 5th 2012

Publisher: Harper

Website: N/A

Imprint: N/A

My Source: Purchased at BN

My rating: 4 Stars

Catherine has been enjoying the single life for long enough to know a good catch when she sees one. Gorgeous, charismatic, spontaneous – Lee seems almost too perfect to be true. And her friends clearly agree, as each in turn falls under his spell. But there is a darker side to Lee. His erratic, controlling and sometimes frightening behaviour means that Catherine is increasingly isolated. Driven into the darkest corner of her world, and trusting no one, she plans a meticulous escape. Four years later, struggling to overcome her demons, Catherine dares to believe she might be safe from harm. Until one phone call changes everything. This is an edgy and powerful first novel, utterly convincing in its portrayal of obsession, and a tour de force of suspense. (Goodreads Summary)

My Review:

Whoa! I don’t know where to begin. First off, this book is very dark – a woman is brutally attacked by someone she loves. The story gives you, the reader, some insight into what the attacker did to her mentally and how she is dealing with it in the aftermath. If you are not into reading about this kind of abuse – mental and physical, don’t read this.

This was recommended to me and while it is not typically the type of book I would read, I have to admit that I liked it. I kept wanting to read on. I don’t know if it was because of the flashback style of writing or the way the author really engaged me into the aftermath of the trauma Cathy went thru (she was seriously OCD). The writing style was so descriptive, especially regarding Cathy’s OCD but I never felt it was too much. I really started to feel for her – how trapped she felt and became. While this story could have verged on the predictable side, it didn’t. It really kept me on my toes all the way to the end.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

