Review | One Moment by Kristina McBride

Title: One Moment

Author: Kristina McBride

Publish Date: June 26, 2012

Publisher: Egmont USA

Website: N/A

Imprint: N/A

My Source: Netgalley

My rating: 3 Stars

Memorial Day weekend was supposed to be perfect for Maggie Reynolds – Dutton’s blow-out party, cliff-diving with her life-long friends – a prelude to the carefree days of summer before the group would take over as seniors. But then something went terribly wrong. Maggie remembers standing on the cliff, hand-in-hand with her perfect boyfriend Joey, ready to jump into the water below. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. But why can’t she remember what happened in that last moment, so she still stood on the cliff, and Joey ended up dead? As memories start returning in brief snatches, they just lead to more questions: Why were Joey and his best friend, Adam, fighting at the party? Where did Joey go after dropping her off? And what other secrets was he keeping from her? With everyone pressuring her to share what happened, her friendships on the verge of collapse, and Adam (who seems to know much more than he’s willing to tell) drifting away from the group, Maggie has never felt so alone.

McBride’s sophomore novel is a searing look at how one moment can alter someone’s entire world. (Official Book Summary)

My Review:

I liked this story, it moved me. I could relate to the main character, Maggie: the feelings she had with first love, peer pressure, just being young and dumb brought me back to the summer before my own senior year in high school. I remember all of the above feelings from when I was her age and the author did a great job at making this story relatable to readers of all ages. In the story, Maggie experiences a loss that is truly unfortunate and she has to deal with remembering what happened. How traumatic it must be to not have any memory of the last moments you spend with the person you love – even more traumatic when the pieces slowly coming back to you don’t fit in with the idealized views you had. The author did a good job describing how Maggie felt. At times, I felt it was a bit much but when looking back on the plot and the age of the characters, the detailed descriptions fit. It’s how teenagers feel, how things just don’t make sense and as an adult sometimes we forget we used to feel the same way about life/friends/family/love at that age.

One of my favorite quotes from the book, “I wished with everything in me that I could slide full speed down the neck of the J I’d drawn in the bottom corner of the page, fling myself off the hooked end, and flip into another existence.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

